The Shock of Night (The Darkwater Saga Book #1)The Darkwater Claims All Who Enter It. All But One.

When one man is brutally murdered and the priest he works for mortally wounded, Willet Dura, reeve to the king of Bunard, is called to investigate. As he begins to question the dying priest, the man pulls Willet close and screams in a foreign tongue. Then he dies without another word.

Willet returns to his task, but the clues to the crime lead to contradictions and questions without answers, and his senses are skewed. People he touches appear to have a subtle shift, as though he can divine their deepest thoughts. In a world divided between haves and have-nots, gifted and common, Willet soon learns he’s been passed the rarest gift of all–a gift that’s not supposed to exist. 

Now Willet must pursue the murderer still on the loose in Bunard even as he’s pulled into a dangerous conflict that threatens not only his city, but his entire world–a conflict that will force him to come to terms with his inability to remember how he escaped the Darkwater Forest–and what happened to him inside it. 

I have not done a book review in a very long time. Full-time work, husband, two teenagers… That being said, I came out of ‘retirement’ for Patrick W. Carr’s new book The Shock of Night. I was thrilled to see that there was a new series coming from Carr as I enjoyed his last series The Staff and the Sword (see previous reviews). I took time away from an exceptionally stressful week of work to try and escape over the weekend. I was not disappointed! For those who know me, I LOVE a good murder – murder mystery novel, that is! I was instantly transported to a world of intrigue, murder and mysterious goings-on. Delightful…

There are details that seemed vague and almost confusing at times, and it might have helped to have read the prequel By Divine Right (free Kindle version on Amazon) to clear up some of the backstory that was not fully developed in the novel. I enjoyed the characters, the intricate pieces of the puzzle and how quickly the story moved along. I was fully involved in the mystery and loved escaping to such an interesting world. If only there were more in the series already published for a wonderful escape every weekend!

I will absolutely read this book again and am eagerly anticipating book two in the Darkwater Saga. I give this book 4 stars out of 5.

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

