The Daniel Fast for Weight Loss: A Biblical Approach to Losing Weight and Keeping It OffIf you’re tired of chasing the latest diet fad only to find that you’ve gained weight, it’s time to try an entirely different approach. The Daniel Fast for Weight Loss succeeds where other programs fail because it focuses on your relationship with God as well as on your relationship with food. Once you discover the pleasures of eating the food God has provided for optimum health, you will not want to turn back. The Daniel Fast for Weight Loss offers a strategic, biblically based plan backed by solid research that will eliminate your cravings and help you to drop those unwanted pounds once and for all.

Two summers ago I read The Daniel Plan by Rick Warren. I thought it was the original book about the way of eating I had heard so much about. The book was interesting but not what I thought it would be. Later on I realized that I should have read The Daniel Fast by Susan Gregory. When I was given the opportunity to review The Daniel Fast for Weight Loss, I was thrilled. I am a vegetarian wanna-be, am in desperate need of getting healthy and am intrigued by a fast that does not require a complete lack of food.

When I began reading, I became frustrated that the book did not begin with the practical aspects of the fast, but spent numerous chapters on first getting your heart and mind ready for spending more time with God during the 21-day fasting period. It only took until chapter 3 for me to realize just how important this foundation-laying was and how unsuccessful the fast would be without this critical internal preparation.

I am getting my kitchen cupboards, my heart and my body ready for the Daniel fast. I will begin in a week and am praying that I have the willpower to succeed. I am thankful that the book has planning and preparation suggestions, a food list and many recipes for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. I long to be closer to God and closer to a healthy weight. I have a specific focus for my prayer time and if I lose weight, great! If I don’t, it will not be in vain. Intentional time with God is never a waste.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

Tyndale Blog Network provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.

