It was a strange experience taking the kids to the bus this morning…a new routine and a new way of life for them…

I am thankful that they are going to an arts-centred school and will be able to express their learning in more creative ways. The gifted program was good for them and kept school from being boring, but not having an outlet for their creativity has been tough. The electives look amazing and my prayer is that this year is going to blow their minds. I pray they make friends easily and find that their classmates are just as artsy-fartsy and “weird” (as Laurenne would say) as they are. Now let me be clear – I do not think my kids are weird! They are artistic, creative and extremely smart – and have a hard time relating to over-the-top academic peers who have no life outside of school, tutoring and after school lessons.

We had scones for breakfast (quickly becoming the traditional back to school breakfast) took the first day of school pictures and were out the door by 7:50. In Toronto, Andrew wasn’t out of bed until 7:45! The school days from Monday to Thursday are long, but they are off by 1:00 on Fridays – which is also Derwyn’s day off. Here’s to extra family time!

Tonight starts youth group and the rest of the week is filled with fall baseball for Andrew, bell choir and takewondo for Laurenne and meetings for Derwyn. I am the taxi driver – but also get to be in a bell choir with Laurenne – yippee! Once my criminal record check comes in I will start volunteering at various schools in different school boards. Hopefully this leads to a job and I can actually begin my teaching career in earnest…

Happy first day of school to all!

