I decided to wander up the hill to the ball field with the boys who were going to play some catch. As I’m looking around, I see a playground across and down a side street. I left the boys and went to explore. It is paradise in our neighbourhood. There are park benches and a heavenly path that lead to a toddler park. On this little path and by the two parks there are 12 apple trees (I think they might be crab apples – mmm, crab apple jelly…) and three trees with little berries on them – I have no idea what they are. Any suggestions?

I also have some pretty purple flowers blooming in my backyard. I have no idea what they are either, but am determined to find out…I would like to plant more of them.

I’m looking forward to finding more little paths through the neighbourhood and explore the hidden gems that bring such peace in the city.

