Today was Derwyn’s last official Sunday at St. John’s York Mills. We will be back to attend on July 14th, but we had to say goodbye to many friends today. It was Laurenne’s last Sunday as she is at a weekend camp with friends on the 14th. I had no tears until I saw Laurenne at the end of the service – that’s when I lost it. It is hard to watch your children go through pain and not be able to fix it – it’s the hardest part of being a parent.

I am so very thankful for the spiritual home St. John’s has become and it will always hold a special place in our hearts – it is where our Anglican journey began in earnest and where we were confirmed and Derwyn was ordained. I am thankful we can come back and visit!

Because it was Derwyn’s last Sunday, he had the opportunity to preach (first time in a collar), Andrew and Laurenne got to read the Scriptures and I got to sit and enjoy a full service while a parent and grandparent volunteer took the responsibility of church school.

Three weeks from now we will be in Sault Ste. Marie – probably ready to crawl into bed after a swim and a soak in the hot tub. It still all seems a bit surreal…

