Cragbridge Hall Book Cover

Imagine a school in the year 2074 where students don’t read history, but watch it happen around them; where running in gym class isn’t around a track, but up a virtual mountain; and where learning about animals means becoming one through an avatar.

Welcome to Cragbridge Hall, the most advanced and prestigious school in the world. Twin siblings Abby and Derick Cragbridge are excited as new students to use their famed grandfather’s inventions that make Cragbridge Hall so incredible. But when their grandfather and parents go missing, the twins begin following a trail of clues left by their grandfather. They must find out where their family is, learn who they can trust, and discover what secrets are hidden within Cragbridge Hall.

Abby and Derick soon realize they are caught in a race with a fierce adversary to discover their grandfather’s greatest secret–a dangerous discovery that could alter both history and reality.

It seems harder and harder to find a really good book for middle-schoolers. Most of the books out there have bad language, violence and sexual overtones that, to this fuddy-duddy mom, are completely inappropriate. I’m not sure how I ended up with an email in my inbox asking if I would like to review this book, but I am very glad for it – this book is great!

The main characters in The Inventor’s Secret are genuine in their struggles, feelings of inadequacy, and tenacious spirit to fight for those they love. The pace is fast and the history is anything but boring – who wouldn’t want to watch Blackbeard and his men pursuing treasure, Mt. Vesuvius erupting over Pompeii, and Shakespeare and his troupe acting at the Globe? History is presented in a way that it is turned from the eye-rolling, boring stuff of textbooks into living, breathing action! As a history lover, I say AMEN!

As a teacher, I can’t wait to use The Inventor’s Secret in the classroom. The cross-curricular opportunities seem endless and the book provides an excellent platform for integrated language, science, social studies and math units. I eagerly await book 2 in the series.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from Shadow Mountain Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

