Tough Guys Book Cover

In Tough Guys and Drama Queens, Mark Gregston, founder of Heartlight Ministries, a residential counselling centre for struggling adolescents, helps parents become the parents their children need them to be. The ability of a parent to reach their teen has more to do with approach than words. The book is divided into three sections: 1) What’s Different About the Culture Today; 2) Why traditional parenting no longer works; and 3) A new model for parenting teens. So, if you want assistance with guiding your child through raging hormones colliding against a worldly culture, Mark’s advice will help you engage your teenager and influence him or her for good.

Tough Guys and Drama Queens: How Not to Get Blindsided by your Child’s Teen Years came at the perfect time for our family: the oldest just turned 13 and the youngest just turned 11. Gregston gives insight into raising teens that I have never considered and probably never would have. Having worked with the extremes of teen issues and behaviour, he is able to provide advice and godly wisdom that is invaluable.

If I find interesting information when I review a book that I want to refer back to, I will turn up the bottom corner of the page. This book has more turned-up pages than any other I have reviewed! Part One: What’s So Different About Today’s Culture was frightening and provided motivation for me to get on my knees for my children! Part Two: Parenting Practices to Avoid was painful but helpful. There was one chapter in particular that had me saying “ouch” on more than one occasion. Part Three: Parenting Practices that Really Work was a breath of fresh air and filled me with hope that my children and I will survive and thrive through their teen years! I am very thankful for Appendix A: Conversation Starters and will be referring to Appendix B: How to Discuss Conflict before I ever open my mouth in a confrontational situation.

Confession: I finished reading this book in the summer, but school got in the way of finishing the review. Now that I have looked through the book again and reread some passages, I know how I am going to spend the next couple of days – reading this book again from cover to cover.  I have reviewed many parenting books, but this one is my all-time favourite and will be a go-to reference for many years to come!

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

 

