Well, I have survived day one of semester two and because both classes were introductory in nature, it was a nice way to get back into the swing of things. The hard part is realizing that I don’t have the same classes today (like in the intensive summer semester), but have five more different classes to go! Should prove to be interesting…

Our dean called our summer semester “boot camp” and I heartily agree. It was a crazy five weeks and I’m glad to only be at school three days a week from now on. On one of the days just before the kids left for camp, I came home to my kitchen goddess having worked some of her baking powers to bless her mama. When I went to school the next day with one of Laurenne’s cupcakes, my classmates nearly had a fit “YOU BAKED?????” These classmates have young children and cannot fathom their kids baking and we were in the depths of homework – how on earth did I score home-made cupcakes? I am blessed!

The next three photos are of an assignment I did for one of my classes. We had to bring in or create an artifact to introduce ourselves to our students and use as a springboard for us to get to know our students. I didn’t have anything that communicated what I wanted, so I created “Mrs. Costinak’s Alphabet”. It took hours to complete, but the A+ I received as my mark made it all worth it. I can’t wait to use it in the classroom.

The last photo is of the prayer table we created when my group was responsible for morning prayer in our Religion class. I chose to take the Catholic class because I want to teach in the Catholic system when I’m done school. They have a fantastic religion program and their family life curriculum (sex ed) is well done and much more appropriate than the public system. I loved my time at St. Joseph’s and pray I get to be a part of the Catholic system for the remainder of my teaching career.

Anyway, time is ticking away again and I have an extra math class this morning to follow up on yesterday’s class. I’ll have to do a separate post to explain it all. Stay tuned…

