On Wednesday, Derwyn and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. We missed doing something extra special on our 10th anniversary, decided we would celebrate on the “ones” – the 11th, 21st, etc, but missed the 11th as well. So, when our 20th anniversary was coming up, Derwyn asked what I would like for our anniversary. I took the plunge and asked for a night at the Chateau Laurier with a parliament view and his aunt and uncle to take care of the kids for us. I am a blessed woman! Not only did his aunt and uncle say yes (we love you Auntie Lynn and Uncle Rick – you ROCK), but we had the most amazing week as a family and as a couple.

We had booked the celebration package for the night that included dinner and a breakfast buffet at Wilfred’s Restaurant and part of the package was a room upgrade if available. Well, we got the ultimate upgrade. We had booked a regular room with a parliament view and ended up with a turret room and a view over the Ottawa River (we could still see parliament, but had to stand at the window and look to the left). Our room was HUGE and the turret was amazing! Have I mentioned that I am a blessed woman? After a late dinner, we watched fireworks from our window to finish celebrating. I’m not sure how we’ll ever top this anniversary, but I think I’m going to start planning now – I could get used to this!

Our time at the Chateau turned out to be only one part of our fantastic time in Ottawa – more posts to come…

