I have no idea where the last six months have gone, but I am now on the brink of losing a year in the blink of an eye! I know the next twelve months are going to FLY by and before I know it I’ll be doing a blog post about only 4 sleeps until the last day of school. I am excited and nervous, but can’t wait to get this show on the road and get back into the classroom!

While in Staples getting the last few school supplies I needed, I stumbled upon a clearance table that had teacher stuff on it. I have always loved borders for bulletin boards and I finally got to buy some of my very own – for $1.97 each (they’re usually between $5 and $8 each). To let you know how much I love bulletin boards, I had borrowed a couple of borders from my Sunday school classroom to cover the two cork boards we have in the office downstairs. Now that I have boarders of my own, I did the switch and LOVE the results! Today I finish the office and start organizing my files so I can actually find resources I used when I taught music at St. Joseph School – why would I re-invent the wheel with some lesson plans when I’ve already done the work…

We’re off to a baseball tournament this weekend and it starts around lunchtime tomorrow, so today is my last full day at home before school starts. There is a ton to get done, but I don’t really care if it isn’t all finished today. My schedule slows down in the fall and I can finish up things that don’t get done now. I’m thankful that I am going into this so relaxed (I know, I know, an alien concept for me) and even more thankful for the amazing support I have at home. I can go to school knowing that the kids and house will be taken care of and I can focus on studying (for the most part…)

I’m hoping to cram in a couple more blog posts before Monday and once school starts I hope I can throw in a post or two to keep you updated on how things are going. If you don’t hear from me for a while, don’t panic – by mid-August the schedule slows down and I’ll get a chance to catch my breath and fill you in on all the details.

Wish me luck – and a prayer or two would be much appreciated…

