One woman’s hilarious, yet totally honest battle with body image exposes the secret that loving the girl in the mirror isn’t about changing how you look, but about changing what you see. Teasi Cannon’s lifelong struggle with weight loss not only made her hate her body, but destroyed her marriage and led to an emotional breakdown. Today she’s happy about her bottom, not because the size has changed, but because her perspective has.

From the description, My Big Bottom Blessing: How Hating My Body Led to Loving My Life by Teasi Cannon looked like a winner for me. I have had issues with my weight over the years and was looking forward to a humorous take on the “blessing” of having a big bottom. It did not take long for me to realize that this book was written on a much deeper level. Cannon shares with readers her deeply personal struggle with self-esteem, abuse suffered as a child, and the unrelenting inner voices of condemnation regarding weight issues. Perhaps ten years ago this book would have been helpful for me, but I am at a stage in life now where I am more comfortable enough in my own skin. At times I found Cannon’s personal story a bit too personal and there are things I wish I did not know.

However, this book has great healing potential for those who have deep pain around their body image and self-esteem. Each chapter ends with a chance for personal reflection entitled “What About You?”, a “Pep Talk” that gives encouragement in the journey of healing, and a list of Scripture verses to direct the reader to God’s thoughts on the subject called “Forward Focus.” This book is an excellent resource for a personal or small group study that could have eternal benefits for those who are willing to walk through pain into healing.

While not a book for me, My Big Bottom Blessing is a gift to the many women who struggle when they look in the mirror.

I give this book 4 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from Worthy Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

