One mom’s humorous and candid memoir that shows would-be supermoms how to create a realistically balanced family life without losing your mind. Grant’s memoir is chock-full of humorous, poignant personal stories drawn from everyday events in her journey as a mom and wife.

I wasn’t really looking for another book on parenting to review as I’ve received several of these in the last while. However, when I was given the opportunity to read MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family by Jennifer Grant, I jumped at the chance. My parenting leans heavily toward the messy side and I have found parenting to be one adventure after another – how could I resist such a book?

Grant opens the door to her life as a mother raising four children and honestly shares her struggles and successes. I particularly appreciated how she directs the focus toward being more intentional with our children. This has been a recurring theme in my life and it is great to have it reinforced again. Life happens at such a frantic pace, and I have found many parents who are struggling to remember to stop and live “in the moment” with their children.

The writing is conversational and casual, and the chapters are short enough to read during quiet moments snatched throughout the day. Grant gently guides the reader to remember God’s grace in their parenting and challenges parents to keep God as the primary focus in their children’s lives. She even includes a prayer from the Episcopalian Book of Common Prayer for parents to rip out of the back of the book and post on the fridge.

MOMumental is not so much a how-to book as it is an encouraging and comforting story of one mom trying her best and getting it right, and a challenge for us to do the same—all while getting messy and loving the adventure.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from Worthy Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Here’s the prayer from the book:

Almighty God, heavenly Father,

You have blessed us with the joy and care of children:

Give us calm strength and patient wisdom as we bring them up,

That we may teach them to love whatever is just and true and good,

Following your example of our Savior Jesus Christ.

Amen.

