No parent is perfect, but what if you could know that when your kids spread their wings, you’ll have no regrets? Offering seven principles for confident motherhood, psychotherapist Hickem helps you usher emotionally secure, faith-centered adults into the world; and reveals how to establish and maintain a strong, lifelong relationship with your children. 

While I do not believe that we can survive parenthood “regret-free” no matter how good the advice given, I do believe that being intentional in our daily lives with our children will help to bring about many of the desires we long for in them. Regret Free Parenting by Catherine Hickem helps mothers to focus on seven principles that will keep them intentional in how they raise their children. Hickem addresses understanding your purpose as a mother, knowing and affirming your child, being a vision keeper, developing emotional intelligence, maintaining your position, addressing your fears, and being God-dependent.

I read this book back in the summer and turned over many page corners to mark important points to review. Looking back, some of those points do not seem as vital now, but other comments and ideas stand out as needing my attention. I can see this book being a valuable resource for many years and will be one I return to again and again – especially the chapter entitled You Can Live Peacefully in the Teenage Years.

Much of what Hickem has to say is common sense and will not be new. However, many of those common sense ideas and principles were like a gentle reminder or a slap in the head to get back in the game and be present and intentional with my children. Time flies when you are parenting and the precious years we have to be with our children will be over before we realize they are out of elementary school! I highly recommend Regret Free Parenting as a resource to encourage you along the journey of caring for the treasure God has entrusted to you.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

