A Kid’s Guide to Being a Winner by C. D. Shelton is a short book that deals with some of the character traits that are used by schools in character education programs. It deals with: being a winner, being thoughtful, having gratitude, being responsible, being respectful, and having a positive mental attitude.

As an elementary school teacher who is presently teaching character education, I was hoping to add another resource to my character education library. Unfortunately, this book is not of the quality that I look for as an educator. The illustrations are unappealing line drawings that are often out of proportion. The text fluctuates from very simple language to using words and idioms that are more complicated for the 8 – 13 age range the book targets. I found it unfortunate that the extremes of “winner” and  “loser” were used. The text gave the impression that it was “all or nothing” in the actions of the reader. If you did the things suggested in the book, you were a “winner,” but if you did not, you were a “loser.” There was no room given for growth and making mistakes along the way.

While I understand what the author set out to accomplish with this book, I feel he could have done much more to make it appealing and applicable for the children he is trying to reach.

I give this book 2 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from The Cadence Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.


