I know I’ve said it before, but my husband is the BEST! The night before we left for Princeton, Derwyn spent a long time on the computer finding a way for us to see the Statue of Liberty without the nasty New York drive. He did it! We took a small detour and arrived at Liberty State Park, which is on the shore of Upper New York Bay in Jersey City, NJ. We watched a nasty storm roll in as we were driving and as we pulled into the parking lot, the skies opened up and let loose. Once the downpour was over, we donned our raincoats and headed out. Of course, once we were all the way out from the shelter to get the best view, the skies opened up once again and we were soaked through (WalMart raincoats only go so far…). So, I took a picture through the rain and we headed back to the shelter. Thankfully it cleared up again, and I could go back out to get a better shot. It is now on my bucket list to climb the Statue of Liberty into the torch as well as visit Ellis Island – a major genealogy hub! I must admit I was a little emotional when I caught my first glimpse of Lady Liberty in the car – I was surprised… I was also surprised at how tall she was. I have always heard that the Statue of Liberty is small and not very impressive, so I was expecting her to be much smaller. I can’t wait to visit Liberty Island and get to see her from the front… one day!

The drive through New York City was uneventful, traffic flowed better than on the 401 in Toronto and crossing the George Washington Bridge was pretty cool. The last three shots were taken on our way back from Princeton when it was sunny. The tall building in the background is the Empire State Building, the Bronx billboard shows that we were “in” the Bronx and the Kermit billboard had me in stitches for quite a while. They have several billboards from The Foundation for a Better Life and we saw a few of them, but this is my favourite by far! Andrew was nearly breathless when we drove past the exit for Yankee Stadium. We would have loved to taken him to a Yankees game, but we knew there was no time so we didn’t even look to see if they were playing at home. Maybe next time…

