Laurenne’s writing this post, because Mom wasn’t there to see my amazing victory. (Wanda here – I was at home doing homework, but Derwyn was there)

On July 12, I went to my neighbour’s house for a Harry Potter marathon before the Deathly Hallows Part 2 premiered. We didn’t watch the Goblet of Fire of the Deathly Hallows Part 1,  because we couldn’t get it. During the movies, people were asking me questions about the books and movies, and I answered all but two of them. Everybody thought I was amazing to be able to know all this, and I don’t even know how I know. (My favourite character is Voldemort, by the way. I don’t know why…)

The next day, there were 3 Harry Potter Trivia competitions at Chapters, and I went with my neighbour and two of her friends. I competed in all of them, and did pretty well. The first one was a group competition, and everyone got sorted into a Hogwarts House. (Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Slytherin) The “sorting” was actually just us getting a slip of paper with a house name on it. I got Slytherin both times, which is good because Voldemort is a Slytherin. Someone would read a question, and the house team would write it on a piece of paper. Everyone would show their answer after 30 seconds, and get a strike if it was wrong (3 strikes, you’re out). Each time we got second place, but there were no prizes this round.

Next was the Costume Competition. 5 people were dressed up (including me). The costumes included 3 Harry Potters, 1 Hermione, and me, Voldemort. The winner was a 2-year-old dressed up as Harry, complete with a broom, robe, and Hedwig! I tied for third place with Hermione, and got a $10 gift card for Chapters.

The second round was individual; no house teams. This time, if you got one strike, you were out. I got second place, and won a $20 gift card to chapters. These questions were easier than the first round, and I answered around 25 before I got one wrong. The people I went with kept asking me how I did it. It was pretty simple for someone who has read the series twice :=D.

Then, there was the Ultimate. This round had extremely hard questions, and you had to give the full name of anybody, and get the order of a list right! The competition only lasted four questions. (Try answering them yourself – the answers will be at the end of this post) Question 1: What are the four house ghosts of Hogwarts? Question 2: What is Viktor Krum’s signature move (quidditch)? Question 3: What is Albus Dumbledore’s full name? Question 4: What are the three D’s of apparation? There were three of us left by the fourth question. One person didn’t know the answer, one got them in the wrong order, and I got them in the right order! Yeah! When the person told me that I won, I was extremely shaky and my mouth was hanging open. All of the people I came with were saying “Go Voldy” through the whole competition. For winning the Ultimate, I got a gift bag that included: Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them ($7.99), Quidditch Through the Ages ($7.99), a Harry Potter key chain ($11.95), two Harry Potter bookmarks ($4.95 each), a $25 gift card to Empire Theatres, and a $50 gift card to Chapters! Oh, and don’t forget the awesome bag they came in. Total value for winning the Ultimate – $112.83! If you add the gift cards from before you get $142.83!!

Answer 1: Sir Nicholas De Mimsy-Porpington (Nearly Headless Nick, Gryffindor), the Fat Friar (Hufflepuff), the Grey Lady (Ravenclaw), and the Bloody Baron (Slytherin) Answer 2: Wrongeski Feint  Answer 3: Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore  Answer 4: Destination, Determination, Deliberation.

