Tags

,

Judith Whitman always believed in the kind of love that “picks you up in Akron and sets you down in Rio.” Long ago, she once experienced that love. Willy Blunt was a carpenter with a dry wit and a steadfast sense of honor. Marrying him seemed like a natural thing to promise. But Willy Blunt was not a person you could pick up in Nebraska and transport to Stanford. When Judith left home, she didn’t look back.

Twenty years later, Judith’s marriage is hazy with secrets. In her hand is what may be the phone number for the man who believed she meant it when she said she loved him. If she called, what would he say?

TO BE SUNG UNDERWATER is the epic love story of a woman trying to remember, and the man who could not even begin to forget.

This book review will be very different from any others that I have written. It will not be long or discuss the highlights of the book. It will give my blunt, honest opinion.

Tom McNeal’s book To Be Sung Underwater had me intrigued with the title… but that is where the intrigue ends. There has only been one other book that made me so angry that I used very foul language to express how I felt about the ending. I will say nothing about the ending to give anything away, except that it added to the hopelessness that I felt throughout the entire book.

I found the story hard to get into and if it were not for the fact that I was required to do a review, I would have set the book aside before the first hundred pages were finished. I slogged through until part three when the story’s pace accelerated and I was encouraged that there may be some hope in the book after all. I found none and did not enjoy the book at any point. That being said, I have a friend who I am pretty sure will love the book. As soon as the postal strike is over, I will be sending my copy to her.

I give this book 2 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from Hachette Book Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

