Move over William Shakespeare – Mr. T’s Grade 4/5 class has given you a serious run for your money!

Here’s the synopsis for Twelfth Night:

Shipwrecked on the coast of Illyria, Viola adopts a male disguise and enters the service of Duke Orsino, only to find herself part of a triangle of unrequited love. Meanwhile, in the household of the Countess Olivia, Sir Toby Belch and his unruly companions trick Olivia’s strict and disapproving steward, Malvolio, into believing that she loves him.

A festive riot of mischief-making and misplaced desire – perhaps the greatest romantic comedy of all time.

Andrew’s class has been working on this performance for months (since January!) and were responsible for everything from the set to the script. Mr. T is wonderful in allowing a child led program that allows for inquiry, responsibility and FUN. The kids were allowed to put together their own actor bio’s, were responsible for their own costumes and went through several drafts of what turned out to be a hilarious script – William would be proud! The language was modern, the ick factor regarding falling in love and (heaven forbid) kissing was priceless and each child took their roles very seriously. I wouldn’t be surprised to see a few of these kids win an academy award one day!

Here is Andrew’s actor bio:

Hi, my name is Sirrus. I play Sebastian, Sir Andrew Aguecheek and the priest. I welcome you to Twelfth Night. 

I have won the best actor of the year, best actor of the decade, best actor of the millennium and best actor of the eon. I played Aragorn in The Lord of the Rings. Also, I played Chuck Norris in Chuck Norris vs. Donkey Kong. A 13 second performance.

I will continue acting for a little bit longer, quit and play baseball. I hope you enjoy our show.

There is never a dull moment in my life and my boy makes me smile, laugh and split my sides. He is a treasure!

It was a lovely evening of fantastic drama and good food and a wonderful way to wrap up the year with the best teacher ever! We will miss Mr. T desperately next year…

 

