I’m sure most of you think that we’ll be heading off to Ottawa again for Canada Day. If Prince William and Kate were not going to be there, then we would be. However, we saw the Queen last summer and I do not want to endure the screaming teens and even more crushing crowds…  Next year though – that’s another story!

This year we are going to friends who live about an hour away on a lovely property. We were to dinner at their house last summer and had an amazing time. He is a friend of Derwyn’s from school (that’s how we met) and his wife and I get on like a house on fire. For a million or so reasons we never managed to get together at all last year (which I won’t let happen again) and it works out that we are going out to their house again for a Canada Day lunch. I will be bringing our annual (when we are not in Ottawa) Canada Day cookies and it will be fun to spend Canada Day with a family from England and share our pride in this amazing country. I’m glad that we will be busy again on Canada Day – it will help us to not miss sitting on our roof in Nelson to watch the fireworks…

The new header photo on the blog is one that I took of the flag that flies over the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill in Ottawa and the above picture is a shot I took of The Hill taken from the Alexandra Bridge. I am crazy about Ottawa and would love to live there one day. It’s a wonderfully historic city that is full of politics, beaver tails and the Rideau Canal to skate on – what more could a girl want?

What are you doing to celebrate our country’s birthday? I would love to hear about it.

