Tags

, ,

Three grown Southern sisters have ten marriages between them—and more loom on the horizon—when Ginger, the eldest, wonders if she’s the only one who hasn’t inherited what their family calls “the Grandma Gene”: the tendency to like the casualness of courtship better than the intimacy of marriage. Could it be that her two sisters are fated to serially marry, just like their seven-times wed grandmother, Mrs. Lillian Irene Harper Winslow Goldstein Carey James Bobrinski Gordon George?  It takes a “girls only” weekend, closing up Grandma’s treasured beach house for the last time, for the sisters to really unpack their family baggage, examine their relationship DNA, and discover the true legacy their much-marrying grandmother left behind . . .

 

I started reading The Fine Art of Insincerity by Angela Hunt just after breakfast and was done before bedtime (and I worked a 4-hour shift in between). I just could not put this book down. The individual stories of the three sisters had me very distressed and as I kept turning pages, I wished I could put the book down and forget about the heartache they were each experiencing. Impossible! These sisters told stories shared by countless women and it was refreshing to find the characters real, honest and raw in their humanity and struggles. There were no pretty bows tied up at the end of the book, just ribbon and the hope that they each could find a way to relearn how to tie it.

The setting of St. Simons Island provided an idyllic retreat for the reader while it gave the characters the isolation necessary to deal with their issues without distraction. The characters were fully developed and I enjoyed how each chapter was written from one sister’s perspective – you got to understand each of them as individuals and the reasons behind their responses to each other. I am not as big a fan of modern fiction as I am of historical fiction, but found this book a great read. The discussion questions could facilitate deep relationship-building and ministry opportunities with book club members. While this book had many difficult moments, it was well worth reading.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from Glass Road Public Relations. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

