Well, now that Derwyn’s mom is safely home and I have a day off work, I can FINALLY post some pictures and thoughts about Derwyn’s graduation Monday night!

To say that I am proud of Derwyn would be an understatement of unmeasurable proportion! He has worked hard, sometimes through bone weary exhaustion, to do his best and in his words, “make selling the house worth it”. I am proud to say that he graduated top of the class with a grade point average of 3.96! He won the award for top standing in the graduating class as well as the top prize for Hebrew. One of his professors gave the introduction of each graduate and mentioned that the faculty thought Derwyn was a prime candidate to go on to doctoral studies (they are encouraging him to go on to Yale or Harvard!) Time and finances will tell whether or not a doctorate is in the near future.

The graduating class left Wycliffe College and paraded to Convocation Hall, led by a piper. The ceremony was wonderful and Derwyn said that it went far too quickly! His degree is a beautiful work of art with the three seals of Wycliffe, the Toronto School of Theology and the University of Toronto. To graduate Summa Cum Laude from one of the top theological schools in the world is an overwhelming achievement and, have I mentioned yet that I am extremely proud of him?

Once life settles down a little, I am planning to have a graduation party to celebrate his success. I wish everyone who has helped us get to this point could come (if you would like to book a flight, I can nail down a date really fast!)

Here are some of the pictures from Monday as promised.

