Tags

, , , , ,

Are all ghosts demons? Growing up in a Pentecostal church, we were taught that the answer was always YES! Ninety-nine percent of the time, I still believe this to be true. However, I have heard of a few instances that make me go hmmm…

My mom was a Long Term Care Aide for many years, assisting senior citizens in their homes. She had a special bond with several of her clients became like one of the family. Two of these clients were a couple I will call Mr. and Mrs. H.  Mr. H had dementia and could be extremely violent. My mom became their regular care worker as she had a way of keeping him calm and could engage him in such a way as to bring happy, loving moments for the family. Mrs. H was a dear saint who passionately loved Jesus and had spent her life living and working for Him. While at work one day, my mom had to call an ambulance for Mrs. H and knew that it would be the last time she would see her alive. My mom told Mrs. H. that she would see her “in the morning” (my mom’s way of saying “see you in Heaven”), kissed her and sent her off to hospital. Mrs. H died in the night and the family called my mom asking her to come back to tell her husband. When she told him, his response was surprising. He said, “I know. She came in the night and told me that she had to go now. She told me that she loved me, everything would be alright and I would see her again soon.” Was the visit from Mrs. H a demon? I think not. Would God allow one of his children a moment before leaving this earth to comfort a loved one? I think so.

There is a seminary professor I once had opportunity to speak with. He comes from a Pentecostal tradition but is now ordained with a mainline denomination. It turns out that he has done some consulting work for a show that documents hauntings. He is a man of deep faith who also happens to be a New Testament scholar. I don’t remember how he got involved with the show, but he told one particular story that has stayed with me. They had gone into an old house that was haunted. The homeowners would see a woman in the house who apparently became quite attached to the husband of the couple. One afternoon the husband laid down for a rest and, after a while, his wife joined him. While trying to snuggle with him, she physically couldn’t fully reach him – there was a gap. He told his wife to be careful as the ghost had come to snuggle with him and was now between the two of them! I asked the professor if he thought all hauntings were demonic and, to my surprise, he said no. He said that while he believed that most of the ghosts he was made aware of through the show were demonic in nature, some simply could not be explained so easily.

Will we ever have a complete answer to this question this side of heaven? I don’t think so. Would I like a ghost, however benign, to appear in my home to tell me something or decide that my husband is great to snuggle with? Absolutely not! I have had personal encounters with demons and want no part of this side of the supernatural realm, demonic or otherwise. I do know that we have nothing to fear. “You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world” (I John 4:4). I have seen God perform miracles with my own eyes, and seen his power at work in unimaginable ways. We serve a powerful God who asks for our obedience and trust and in return offers us eternal life! There are many questions in life that won’t have answers, but we know that “in all things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us” (Romans 8:37). Thanks be to God!

I received this book free from Strang Publishers and Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Blog Tour as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

