Tags

, , , , ,

As I posted yesterday, The Resurrection by Mike Duran is an adult supernatural thriller that had me reading on the edge of my seat, holding my breath, begging for characters to be safe, and pondering spiritual matters that I had not considered seriously for years. What a ride!

I haven’t read a good ‘spooker’ in a long time. The suspense in this book was at times frightening and the surprise plot twists only added to the hold-your-breath suspense. If I was a nail biter, my fingernails would be gnawed down to the skin! The characters were fully-developed ordinary folk, raw, honest in their struggles, and believable – not of the ‘too good to be true’ variety. The balance between plot and character was such that no one element stood out. Equal treatment of both made the book flow quickly and dramatically. The author did a fantastic job painting word pictures that gave just enough information – no time was wasted on the unimportant; you were transported into each scene with all five senses fully engaged.

I think what I appreciated the most about this book was that the author did not tie up all of the loose ends into a pretty bow. Many things were left unresolved, just like in real life. I spent days after finishing the book pondering those loose ends and wondering how the characters have fared since the final chapter closed…

There are many lessons to be learned in reading The Resurrection. The first is the challenge to be sure our Christian life not stuck in mediocrity. This is exactly where the Enemy wants us. We are no threat to him or his work if we are lukewarm and apathetic – and God is none to happy about it either (Revelation 3:16). The second lesson is that there is a greater power in prayer than we can fully comprehend. It is the ordinary, garden variety saints who do the great work of God. You don’t need to be a “super” Christian with an established, popular, and visible ministry. Our heavenly Father rewards the work that is done in secret. That is where the real battles are waged and won (Ephesians 3:20, Matthew 6:6). The third lesson is continually found throughout Scripture. Any power we have comes not from us, but from God himself to do as he wills. We are to be obedient. The results are up to him.

I give this book 4 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from Strang Publishers and Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Blog Tour as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

