Tags

, , ,

I have a little boy who could eat salad until green sprouts appear out of his ears. However, his salad choices are pretty limited – lettuce, carrots, cucumber, and broccoli. When I saw the book Salad as a Meal: Healthy Main-Dish Salads for Every Season by Patricia Wells, I was crossing my fingers hoping I had found a book that would add some variety to my son’s salad repertoire.

Salad as a Meal contains a large number of recipes with unique flavour combinations. One salad contains cantaloupe, tomato, goat cheese, cucumber and onion! That should send your taste buds on quite an adventure. There are many chapters devoted to accompaniments such as: eggs, cheese, beans, grains and pasta; appetizers and sides; soups; breads; and dressings and sauces.

I found many of the recipes too exotic for our household. Several common ingredients found in these recipes were unusual, expensive, and certainly not meant for a family on a budget. It would be lovely to shop at the finest organic markets and purchase my fish only at a local fish monger, but reality dictates practicality…

That being said, there are several recipes that hold promise, including: multigrain sourdough bread, broccoli soup with mint, egg crepes with mushroom and spinach, BLT tartines, chicken salads too numerous to name and a scrumptious tahaini dressing – yum!

If ever I had an unlimited grocery budget, I would have this book on my cookbook shelf. Would my son eat many of these salads? No! Would I eat almost all of these? Yes!

I give this book 3 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from the publisher through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

