Tags

, , ,

Last month I contacted a publishing company and asked if they would be so kind as to send a particular book for review. I’ve never been so bold, but with the encouragement of another Canadian book reviewer, I bit the bullet. Happily the publisher said yes and the book arrived while I was in BC with mom. I have started reading it and now my feathers are ruffled. What is the book you ask? It’s called Unprotected Texts: The Bible’s Surprising Contradictions About Sex and Desire by Jennifer Wright Knust.  I didn’t even make it through the introduction and first chapter before I was ready to have a wee bit of a fit and had a few questions for my Old Testament scholar husband. It’s going to be an interesting read and I have great desire to study more and dig deeper into her sources and the conclusions she reached with them. I have been given the impression that the author has an agenda but I am determined to read it with an open mind and see where the author goes with this. Stay tuned…  Wanda

