Tags

As I type this, my mom is being settled into her own bed by the paramedics! Yes, praise the Lord and Hallelujah, my mom is HOME! It has been twelve weeks since the accident and she is doing better than any of the doctors in Kamloops had held out hope for. The surgeon who removed her spleen and was responsible for her care told me that they never expected her to get this far – that’s how severe the brain injury was. She is still not 100%… she needs to start eating to continue to heal, but the prayer is that being home will stimulate her appetite – can’t say that hospital food did that – I tried some of the stuff they gave her and I’m not sure I would have eaten it either.

Sarah went home from the hospital yesterday and is settling in nicely. Dad said that she was chatting like a jaybird – a fantastic sign for her!

So, I’m not sure what I will do with myself now that I don’t have two hospitals and my dad to phone every day. I will still phone home daily for updates, but to no longer have to deal with the healthcare system on such an intimate level feels a bit strange and a whole lot wonderful.

Prayers are what have brought us this far and your continued prayers will see us to the finish line. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You are the warriors who fought for my family and WON. We truly could not have made it this far without you.

With humble gratitude and a thankful heart, Wanda

