Tags

, ,

OK, I realize that the only middle schooler who reads this blog is my own daughter, but if you are the parent of a late elementary or middle schooler, know some late elementary or middle schoolers or know parents or teachers of some, then SIT UP AND PAY CLOSE ATTENTION!  Please!

Yesterday I discovered a book that will be released on March 1, 2011 that is a MUST read for any child in these age categories.  I read the prologue and first chapter to my kids last night and here’s what they said: (and I quote)

“What!  That’s it?”

“How can you leave me in such a state of suspense?”

“Epic, even after the first chapter!”

“I SO want to know what he was going to confess next in the prologue.”

“March the first?  I can’t wait that long!”

What is the name of the book you ask?  It is called The Stone of Destiny by Jim Ware. It is published by David C Cook, is 300 pages long (an important point in our house as short books are frowned upon by my middle schooler), and is the first of two in a series.  Here is the description on the publishers website: 

Morgan Izaak is obsessed with his father’s ancient books about the magical Philosopher’s Stone. And since his mother has cancer, a little magic could be really useful-although she would prefer to trust her doctors and pray. When Morgan’s best friend, Eny, tells him about another magic stone that may be hidden in their own town-the Irish Stone of Destiny-he’s determined to find it. But Morgan’s not the only one looking for the Stone, and by the time the two middle schoolers realize there’s evil afoot, Morgan has betrayed his friendship, bad-tempered giants are loose in the land, and the Stone is lost…perhaps forever. This charming, fantastical tale about faith is the first of two volumes about the Stone of Destiny.

In a brief biography on amazon.com the author shares: “I wrote THE STONE OF DESTINY for two reasons. First, I love fantasy, and I wanted to treat my readers to a rollicking good story. Second, I was hoping to invent a tale that illustrates the difference between faith and ‘magic’ – in other words, the difference between trust and a grab for power.”

I am thrilled to find a book that deals with magic in relation to faith. The struggle in Christian circles with ‘what to do’ with Harry Potter and the like is an ongoing debate and I am hoping that Mr. Ware is able to begin to address these issues in such a way as to help everyone to find calm and balance. I have no idea if this is even a goal he set out to accomplish, but I hope it contributes to the conversation. We are eager for its arrival and want you to help spread the word!

Here is the link so that you, too, can read the prologue and first chapter as well as an interview with the author:  http://www.scribd.com/doc/47544017/The-Stone-of-Destiny

Let me know what you think – I am interested to hear your impressions.

I give the prologue and first chapter 5 stars out of 5!

