Tags

, ,

What would Jesus do? This common question could be rephrased to ask, How did Jesus do it? when wanting to know how Jesus taught truth to people in the 1st century.  Avery T. Willis Jr. and Mark Snowden try to answer this question in their book Truth That Sticks:  How to Communicate Velcro Truth in a Teflon World.  The challenge of making disciples in the 21st century is greater with the increase of less literate ways of communication and a generation who prefer these oral and visual means of communicating.  The “TruthSticks” strategy introduced in the book involves using interactive Bible storying methods to provide fun ways to disciple children, revitalize small groups, and develop disciple making churches.

As an elementary school teacher, I was very interested in the methods proposed in this book for the less literate and oral learners in the classroom.  While not directly applicable in some aspects, I did come away with some new strategies for planting God’s Word deeper into these young hearts.

I often found portions of the book light on practical “how-to’s” and heavy on statistics and anecdotal success stories.  The photographs at the beginning of each chapter often do not seem to relate well to the chapter title and the reflection questions at the end of each chapter lack depth.

While bringing an important and valuable tool to the discipleship toolbox, I feel the authors could have gone into much greater detail to help implement the changes needed to help make Bible storying a regular part of the disciple-making process.  This book would be better suited to the lay leader or those that lack formal theological education.  I was left wanting much more…  I give this book 3 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

