Tags

, ,

I Lift Up My Soul is a devotional written by Dr. Charles Stanley and is a collection of stories and illustrations to inspire and direct the soul to God.  Each day’s reading includes a verse from the Scriptures, a longer passage for further reflection, a guided prayer and an instructional message to encourage the heart and lift the soul.

When I first began reading these devotions, I was disappointed at how quick and simplistic each devotion was; there seemed to be no meat to sink your teeth into.  However, as I kept reading, I began to see a greater purpose in the book’s design.  The focused readings in this book are well designed for the new believer or the one whose faith has grown weary.  Each devotion requires only a couple of minutes to read and will bring courage and hope to those who are hurried, harried and in need of a gentle, calming moment in their day.

I would recommend this book for those who are beginning their walk with Christ or are in need of a spiritual pick-me-up.  I give it 4 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

