Tags

, , , ,

I got this book so I could pass it on to my mom – a woman who has suffered much throughout her life. Two days after I had finished reading it, she was in a violent car accident that left her in critical condition and in a coma… and it suddenly became a book that was meant for me. Before this, I had read the book from an emotional distance. Now, reading words like: “Naive trust says, ‘God will always work out things the way I want them to be,’…But seasoned trust says, ‘God might hurt me, but I trust Him anyway,’” stung my untrusting heart and challenged me in ways I was unprepared for. I was forced to consider the unthinkable and examine my faith critically. Wasn’t this book supposed to be for my mom…?

How do you keep putting one foot in front of the other while battling cancer year after year? How do you continue to breathe after losing a child to cancer? The authors answer these questions honestly. Their stories were put into book form while their wounds were still open and their pain still raw. You will not find pat answers and the “Christian-ese” expressions we Christians are so good at reciting, but honest answers to the tough questions and a healing balm of hope for the broken heart. This book is for anyone who has had pain in the past, who is suffering now and even for those for whom life seems great. Some lessons are only learned through suffering, but by reading the authors’ journeys from agony and despair to hope and healing, your heart can be better prepared should that suffering come to you.

It has been five and a half weeks since my mom’s accident and, while she will be in hospital for many more weeks and may never fully recover from her injuries, I have learned that “Our hearts ache, but we always have joy” (2 Corinthians 6:10, NLT). I give this book five stars out of five.

I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

