My heart is filled with thankfulness to Him who reigns above…

When I came in to see mom, she had just come back from having a procedure done to give her pancreas a rest and allow it to heal faster. Because of that, she was sedated and asleep.  However, it didn’t take her long to start to open her eyes and look around for a quick bit before falling back asleep.  She smiled when she saw me, but I don’t think it has really registered yet that I am here.  I had been there for about an hour and was just sitting quietly with her, allowing her to rest when her nurse came in to do something with her that I wouldn’t be allowed to stay for.  I was hungry for supper so told mom that I was going to grab a bite and gave her a kiss on the cheek.  She lit up with a huge smile and closed her eyes as though in bliss.  I giggled and had to give her four more kisses just to see her smile like that.  I am so thankful that I am here!  I sure love my mom.

Sitting here in the second floor cafe having Bombay Chai tea and a panini is a very surreal experience.  It feels like I’ve only been gone a couple of days, not almost two weeks…  I would have been here Monday, but all of the flights were full.  I had tickets booked for yesterday, but my flight never arrived in Toronto because of a mechanical difficulty in St. John’s and all the back up planes were snowed in on the East Coast.  So, I finally made it today!  Hooray!  Mom looks infinitely better than the last time I saw her, and I am continually thankful that she is here…

Derwyn and the kids have a lot planned for the rest of this week and the time should fly by for them – which won’t be fun for the kids cuz that means school starts much sooner, but it will make my absence less noticeable.

The last two weeks have been very strange.  I was home and only had to work two days last week.  At first I was afraid about my hours being cut, but really it was the wisdom of my manager.  He understood that with me being gone, having kids and needing to prepare for Christmas, I would need the time off.  He was right.  I had much less patience and was exhausted being at work.  It was no more physically demanding, but I had a hard time staying focused and had a shorter fuse.   My co-workers were great and very understanding.  When I was home, I was busy wrapping, phoning ICU, my dad and sister every day and trying to unwind to enjoy Christmas.  It was great, but once Christmas was over I was antsy to see mom.  I feel like I have a split personality – regular home life and life here in Kamloops.  I guess it’s normal, but it’s weird.

Anyway, enough for now.  The nurses should be done and mom will be more awake now…

Thank you for your continued prayers, the road ahead is long.

Wanda

