Mary was there the day Jesus was born. She was there the day he was crucified. What happened in between offers a gold mine of faith-building principles for women. In Heaven in Her Arms, author Catherine Hickem shows readers there is much that women can learn from this most famous female in the Bible.

The God of the universe hand-picked Mary to raise his Son. What Heaven in Her Arms unveils are the bedrock characteristics that, in Gods design, empowered her to shape Jesus for his purpose on earth. Women everywhere can peer into this special life and discover a deeper faith, a God-honoring purpose for their lives, and the core of their identity as believers.

This is the first book that has challenged me as a mother to dig beyond the surface, day-to-day struggles of motherhood to ponder God’s desire for me and my relationship with my children. Hickem shook the foundation of my understanding of God’s view of my role and responsibilities to his gifts to me – my children. She has given me much to ponder.

Pondering is a recurring theme and challenge given by Hickem. If I don’t know who I am in Christ, stand firm in that knowledge, and reflect that spiritual confidence to my children, I am not doing the job God requires of me. None of this is possible without taking time alone to ponder: time set aside, away from the frantic, to carefully consider life, my children and my impact on both.

The writing style is smooth, the chapters are short and the study guide is an excellent tool for pondering and discussion. I am now an eager student of Mary, mother of Jesus and deeply appreciate the challenges set forth by Hickem. I will read Heaven in Her Arms again and again and look forward to sharing this book in a small group setting. If you are a mother, I challenge you to read this book, and if you know a mother-to-be, it would be the perfect gift.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

I received this book free from BookSneeze.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

 

